Skip to content

Audit and Risk Committee

Council has established an Audit and Risk Committee (the Committee) in compliance with section 53 of the Local 'Government Act 2020' (the Act) – Audit Committee.

Pursuant to 139(2) of the Act, the Committee is an advisory committee and does not have any executive powers, management functions, or delegated financial responsibility.


The Committee alongside the Chief Executive Officer and Moreland Executives comprises of seven members - three Councillors and four independent and external members, appointed by Council.

The three Councillors that have been appointed members of the Committee are:

  • Cr Mark Riley (Mayor)
  • Cr Angelica Panopoulos (Councillor Member)
  • Cr Adam Pulford (Councillor Member)

The four independent and externally appointed members of the Committee are:

  • John Watson (Chair)
  • Jeff Rigby
  • Joelle Tabone
  • Lisa Tripodi

Committee Charter

The Committee’s functions and responsibilities are outlined in the Moreland Audit and Risk Committee Charter (PDF). This charter was approved by Council on 13 September 2021.

Moreland Audit and Risk Committee Performance Reports

The following reports on our Audit and Risk Committee's performance are available: