Moreland Awards 2016

The Moreland Awards honour both individuals and groups who have worked towards enriching community life in Moreland.

Awards ceremony

Winners of the awards were announced at a ceremony on Thursday 1 September 2016.


Mayor’s Police Leadership Award

Winner: Senior Constable Jeff Bell

High Commendation: Detective Senior Constable Steve Bull

Collaborative Partnerships Award, Awarded for Environmental Excellence

Winner: Baptcare

Contribution to Arts and Culture Award

Winner: Alister Karl

Contribution to Sport Award

Winner: Paula Hessey

High Commendation: Cheryl Congram

Youth Contribution Award

Winner: Amelia Mazis

Community Event of the Year Award

Winner: YMCA Victoria

Environmental Sustainability Achievement Award

Individual Winner: Cinnamon Evans

Organisation Winner: Moreland Community Child Care Centres

Lisa Bellear Award for Contribution to Reconciliation Activities

Winner: Coburg Football Club

Honouring Women in Moreland Award

Winner: Sadia Muhammad and Sarwat Nauman

High Commendation: Tina Thorburn and Sarah Knights

Volunteer of the Year Awards

Winner: Jacqueline Hill

High Commendation: Vittorio Cardamone

20 Years of Moreland Award

Winner: Noel and Irene Dunston

High Commendation: Ernie Green